top of page

Review: "The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel, A Story of Sleepy Hollow" by Alyssa Palombo

I have never been a big fan of spooky books or movies so I have never read the original Legend of Sleepy Hollow but this story intrigued me and I was not disappointed. This is the story of the original legend but in female voice and with very real human emotions. I couldn’t put it down!

The story is in the first person by Katrina Van Tassel. The use of this method makes the story unforgettable and page turning. You feel her sentiments for both Ichabod Crane and Brom Van Brunt. Her love for Ichabod is deep and passionate, as is her dislike of Brom. You are rooting for the young lovers and crushed when everything goes horribly array. Katrina’s despair over the way life has cruelly twisted is excruciating.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it. It can be enjoyed by teens to adults. It is a very human twist to an old legend. Even though I knew the outcome from the folktale, I had to keep reading. It leaves the reader wondering if the supernatural or human hands were behind the reckoning.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page