top of page

Review: "White Houses" by Amy Bloom

Although I love historical fiction, especially about strong women, I have never had any interest in Eleanor Roosevelt or that period, I usually avoid it. I even had looked at this novel and avoided it but the description was so captivating, I thought I would try it. What a truly page turning tale that I couldn’t put down. This is the story of the relationship of Eleanor Roosevelt and newspaper reporter, Lorena Hickok. They have a special friendship that goes back eleven years and this highlights the highs and lows.

This story is told in the first person by Lorena Hickok. The timeframe is a weekend in April 1945 shortly after the death of Franklin Roosevelt. It is Lorena’s story, how her life was intertwined with Eleanor’s and her inside look at the Roosevelts’ during Franklin’s presidency. By using this style, it makes you feel part of the telling, as if you are sitting in a room with Lorena as she relates the events of her life. You become emotionally involved and want the story to continue. It works very effectively with this account.

Amy Bloom’s story has had a threefold effect on me. I will definitely be reading more about Eleanor Roosevelt, she appears to be a many faceted woman. I also want to learn more about Lorena Hickok. She was a woman working in a man’s world during a time when most women stayed at home and took care of the family. Last, I have added Amy Bloom as one of the authors of whom I will certainly be reading more novels. This was riveting and I couldn’t put it down.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page