top of page

Review: "Isaiah's Daughter" by Mesu Andrews

One of my favorite genres to read is historical fiction involving characters of the Bible and I have found a new (for me), phenomenal author in this field. Mesu Andrews’, Isaiah’s Daughter, is an electrifying novel about Queen Hephzibah, a lowly captive who Isaiah takes into his home. He grows to love her as his beloved daughter and she befriends King Hezekiah, whom she marries. This book is her story as the wife of one of the beloved kings of Israel to the mother of one of the most hated.

This is an intricate story but the author does a fantastic task of combining the complex characters and plots to create a story that brings Hephzibah and this period to life. You can feel the terror as the Assyrians besiege the city and understand Queen Hephzibah’s dread as the king is afflicted with a plague and seems certain to die. You can also feel their faith as they pray to Yahweh for strength and to understand the prophecies.

I devoured this book and thoroughly enjoyed it. Ms. Andrews has a deep understanding of this Bible story and brings it to life. It can be read and enjoyed by teen to adult readers and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves this style of fiction. I have added her to my list of authors to read.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page