top of page

Review: "Sole Survivor" by Marcus Luttrell

This is hard-hitting, heartbreaking factual story about one man’s struggle to survive after he and his SEAL Team 10 were detected on Operation Redwing, a mission to capture the head of the Taliban in Afghanistan. At times, this was difficult to read because of the pain and suffering that was endured.

I enjoyed this book for the information that it provided. I never understood the extensive training that young men go through to become a Navy SEAL. The drills and torment to toughen them are unbelievable. The few that make it through are the best of the best! I also never understood exactly how badly the Taliban hates us. I have read about it elsewhere but this really brings it home and I thank God there are amazing young men like Marcus to protect us.

I did not care for the jumping around in the beginning of the book. I found it frustrating because I wanted to get into the story. Once I got past that, I couldn’t put it down.

This book is not for the faint of heart or someone looking for a love story or happy ending. I shed many tears as I read it but then sometimes the truth is not pretty but definitely needs to be told.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page